Ethics Review Commission


The Ethics Review Commission was established by ordinance by the City of Boerne. Its members:

  • Review complaints regarding possible ethics violations;
  • Conduct investigations and hearings regarding possible ethics violations; and
  • Report findings and make recommendations regarding sanctions to the City Council regarding ethics violations.


The Ethics Review Commission meets once per year when appointments are made and holds special meetings to address complaints as they arise.


The Ethics Review Commission is comprised of five regular members and two alternates, each serving a three-year term. The mayor appointments each member and a chairman with approval from City Council. Members elect a vice chairman and secretary for the commission. Members must reside within the city limits.

Download an application to serve on this commission.

Member NamePositionTerm Expiration
Carlin FriarChairJune 2023
Ben WalkerVice ChairJune 2023
Darren SmithSecretaryJune 2023
Ken DunbarMemberJune 2022
Robert LeeMemberJune 2023
Sue WilloughbyAlternateJune 2022
Members of the Ethics Review Commission