Historic Landmark Commission


The Historical Landmark Commission holds a variety of responsibilities with the goal of promoting historical preservation in the city. The commission and its members:

  • Investigate and study matters related to the protection, enhancement, restoration, perpetuation and use of historic landmarks, districts and structures;
  • Review applications for historic landmark designation;
  • Review permits for the construction, reconstruction, alteration, restoration, relocation, demolition, or razing of an included structure in a designated historic district or affecting a designated historic landmark;
  • Review applications for historic preservation tax exemption; and
  • Make recommendations to the Planning and Zoning Commission pertaining to the amendment of any historic district.


The Historic Landmark Commission meets at 5:30 p.m. on the first Tuesday of each month and in special meetings as needed. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers at City Hall – 447 N. Main Street in Boerne.


The commission is comprised of seven members appointed by the mayor with approval from City Council. The mayor also appoints a chairman and vice chairman. Members serve a four-year term and must live within the city limits or within the extraterritorial jurisdiction of the City of Boerne.

Download an application to serve on this commission.

Member NamePositionTerm Expiration
Ben AdamChairJune 2023
Justin BoernerVice ChairJune 2025
Cesar HanceMemberJune 2025
Stephen KerrMemberJune 2023
Patti MainzMemberJune 2023
Michael NicholsMemberJune 2023
Cali ReddMemberJune 2023
Sally PenaMemberJune 2025
Members of the Historical Landmark Commission