Employee Awards - 2022

Celebrating Superhero Employees

Each of the City of Boerne’s more than 300 employees work diligently each day to make our community a wonderful place to live. Their efforts can be seen across all departments and are evidenced by the numerous state and national awards our colleagues bring home to Boerne each year.

For the first time since the start of the pandemic, all City of Boerne employees gathered August 25, 2022, for an Employee Appreciation Lunch. During the superhero-themed gathering, employees were recognized for tenure milestones for their time with the City.

Several awards were also given out to those employees who have gone above and beyond in their service to the community during the last year. The Directors' Awards and the Value Awards were presented for the first time this year. See below for a full list of the employees who were recognized.

Value Awards

The five Value Awards are given to employees from any department who best represented each of the City of Boerne’s Core Values – Collaboration, Respect, Excellence, Integrity, and Service.

Paul Barwick

Collaboration – Paul Barwick

Special Projects Director Paul Barwick is the first recipient of the City of Boerne’s Value Award for Collaboration.

Paul has collaborated with most every other City department and countless other organizations on projects that are enjoyed and beloved by the Boerne community. He brings people to the table and finds community members whose expertise best serve the project at hand. He accomplishes projects with modesty while preserving history, respecting the land, and leaving Boerne more unique and memorable than when he arrived.

Directors’ Awards

The Directors’ Award was given to nine employees whose attitude, work ethic, and performance represented the best of their departments during the last year.

Group picture of Directors' Award recipients.

Administration - Siria Arreola

The Directors’ Award for Administration was presented to Deputy City Secretary Siria Arreola.

This award is given to an exemplary employee from the City Manager’s Office, the City Secretary’s Office, Human Resources, Communications, IT, and Visit Boerne.

Community Services - Randall Cass

The Directors’ Award for Community Services was presented to Randall Cass, Service Worker II with the Boerne Parks and Recreation Department.

This award is given to an exemplary employee from Parks and Recreation, Facilities, Animal Care Services, Fleet, and Special Projects.

Library - Sandy Johnston

The Directors’ Award for the Library was presented to Sandy Johnston, General Services Coordinator at the Patrick Heath Public Library.

This award is given to an exemplary employee from the Patrick Heath Public Library.

Police Department - Ramona Ramirez

The Directors’ Award for the Police Department was presented to Officer Ramona Ramirez.

This award is given to an exemplary employee from the Boerne Police Department’s divisions of Patrol, Investigations, School Resource Officers, Police Administration, and Dispatch.

Finance - Heather Bradford

The Directors’ Award for Finance was presented to Finance Officer Heather Bradford.

This award is given to an exemplary employee from Finance, the Municipal Court, and Customer Care and Billing.

Fire Department - Chris Copeland

The Directors’ Award for the Fire Department was presented to Fire Captain Chris Copeland.

This award is given to an exemplary employee from the Fire Department, Fire Administration, and the Fire Marshal’s Office.

Planning and Community Development - Rebecca Pacini

The Directors’ Award for Planning and Community Development was presented to Rebecca Pacini, Planner III.

This award is given to an exemplary employee from Planning and Code Enforcement.

Development Services - Erika Rowe

The Directors’ Award for Development Services was presented to Administrative Assistant Erika Rowe.

This award is given to an exemplary employee from Development Services, Construction Inspections, and the Streets Department.

Utilities - Chris Conley

The Directors’ Award for Utilities was presented to Water/Wastewater Plant Technician Chris Conley.

This award is given to an exemplary employee from Utilities Administration, Electric, Water, Wastewater, Gas, and Treatment Plants.

Tenure Awards

The following employees were honored for their commitment to our community and their time with the City of Boerne.

25 Years

Michael Sharp with his 25 year tenure award.

Michael Sharp and Mike Raute (not pictured).